Autodesk Certified Professional in Inventor for Mechanical Design Exam Help

Take My Inventor for Mechanical Design Exam

The Autodesk Certified Professional in Inventor for Mechanical Design exam is the professional-level credential in the Autodesk certification program: 45-60 selected-response questions in 120 minutes, a US$200 standard retail exam fee, English only, and delivery online from home through Pearson OnVUE or at a Pearson VUE test center. Send your background, your Inventor experience, your window, and your deadline. Exam Assist answers honestly on feasibility, handles the sitting end to end, and you pay only after the pass posts.

Last verified:

Book Inventor for Mechanical Design Exam Help

We handle the sitting. Pay only after you pass.

45-60
Questions

Autodesk's certification page publishes 45-60 selected-response questions for the ACP in Inventor for Mechanical Design - multiple choice, drag-and-drop, active-screen, hot-area, and graphic-interpretation items.

120 min
Exam duration

The published duration is 120 minutes - two hours - the standard length for Autodesk professional-level exams.

US$200
Exam fee

Autodesk's overview page publishes the standard retail price of US$200 for every Professional-level exam, uniform across the catalog.

English
Exam language

Autodesk publishes exam and proctor available in English; certifications stay valid for three years with retesting required to renew.

What the Inventor for Mechanical Design Exam Actually Is

The Autodesk Certified Professional in Inventor for Mechanical Design certification is the professional-level credential for mechanical designers, CAD engineers, and manufacturing professionals - Autodesk's validation that you can solve complex challenges in workflow and design with Inventor. The single exam that earns it is a Pearson VUE-delivered sitting.

The format is published on Autodesk's certification page, and it is the canonical sentence this site repeats everywhere the exam comes up: The Autodesk Certified Professional in Inventor for Mechanical Design exam runs 45-60 selected-response questions in 120 minutes, costs US$200 at the standard retail price, and is offered in English.

Question types are named in Autodesk's FAQ: multiple-choice, drag-and-drop, active-screen, hot-area, and graphic-interpretation items. It is a selected-response exam - you do not get access to the software during the exam, so it tests applied knowledge of the tool, not live modeling speed.

Registration runs through your Autodesk Account: you fill out the exam application, then schedule, pay, see results, and connect to online proctors from the Certification Dashboard. Delivery is your choice - in person at a Pearson Testing Center or online with Pearson OnVUE.

Autodesk Certified Professional in Inventor for Mechanical Design at a glance, per Autodesk's certification page (retrieved 18 September 2026)
ItemPublished value
Exam levelAutodesk Certified Professional (ACP)
Questions45-60 (selected response)
Duration120 minutes
Exam feeUS$200 (standard retail price)
LanguageEnglish (exam and proctor)
DeliveryOnline with Pearson OnVUE, or a Pearson Testing Center
Certification validity3 years
RenewalRetesting required to renew
Passing scoreNot published - pass or fail result only
Experience barApproximately 400-1200 hours of real-world software experience

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

What the Inventor for Mechanical Design Exam Covers

Autodesk publishes the skill areas on the certification page: configuration and administration, design automation techniques, standard part modeling, advanced part modeling, assembly modeling, modeling strategies, drawings, sheet metal, and weldment tools - the mechanical design workflow from part to documented assembly.

The experience bar is published too: Autodesk typically expects roughly 400 to 1200 hours of real-world software experience for a professional-level candidate. That is not a hard prerequisite you must document, but it calibrates who the exam is written for.

Just as useful is what the exam is not: it is not a live in-software performance test. Autodesk's FAQ states plainly that you will not have access to the software to help with answers - every item is selected-response against your applied knowledge of workflows, standards, and outputs.

At Home via OnVUE or at a Pearson VUE Test Center

Both routes are official. Autodesk's certification page states it directly: take your exam in person at a Pearson Testing Center near you or take it online with Pearson OnVUE. The Autodesk Account handles scheduling, rescheduling, payment, results, and proctor connection for both.

The at-home route carries published minimums from Pearson's Autodesk OnVUE page: your computer runs Windows 10 or macOS 14 or higher with a working webcam, microphone, and speaker - headphones and headsets are not allowed - on a single display, because multi-monitor setups are not permitted. Your connection holds at least 6 Mbps download and 2 Mbps upload, stable, and every application except OnVUE closes. Prohibited on exam day: virtual machines and beta operating systems, phones, tablets, watches and earbuds, smart devices with recording or AI features, secondary or touchscreen displays, and VPN, corporate, or public networks.

Before exam day you run and pass the System Test on the same device and network you will use for the sitting, restart your computer, and make sure no one else is using the network for streaming or large downloads. An unmet minimum can mean immediate exam cancellation and forfeiture of the exam fee.

What the Attempt Costs

The exam fee is US$200 - Autodesk's overview page publishes one standard retail price for every Professional-level exam in the catalog. You pay per appointment through your Autodesk Account at scheduling.

The retake ladder is published on Autodesk's policies page and it is unusually forgiving: if you do not pass the first attempt, you may immediately reschedule and take the exam again, based on appointment availability. After a second unsuccessful attempt, a three-day (72-hour) wait applies - and that same three-day waiting period applies to each subsequent retake. A second-attempt pass totals US$400 in Autodesk exam fees; a third-attempt pass totals US$600.

Renewal is its own line item: the certification is valid for three years, and recertifying means submitting a new application inside the six-month window before expiry and passing the exam again before the expiry date - there is no grace period once a credential lapses. The full tier fee picture - Associate US$150, Expert US$250, and the renewal math - sits in the Autodesk certification cost explainer. The service fee for a handled sitting is separate from Autodesk's exam fee, and it is due only after the agreed result posts.

Where Inventor for Mechanical Design Attempts Go Wrong

The first failure pattern is treating a selected-response exam like an open-software test. Candidates expect to lean on muscle memory from live drafting, then meet drag-and-drop and hot-area items that ask where a control lives or which workflow step comes next - applied knowledge of the interface and standards, not modeling speed. Autodesk's FAQ is explicit that you will not have access to the software during the exam.

The second pattern is underestimating the pace. Forty-five to sixty items in 120 minutes is two to three minutes per question - comfortable on paper, until a hot-area exhibit eats ten minutes. And because Autodesk publishes no passing score, there is no published margin to plan against.

The third pattern is logistical. An unmet OnVUE minimum - a second monitor still attached, headphones within reach, a VPN or corporate network - can mean immediate cancellation and a forfeited US$200 exam fee before the first question. And the three-year validity clock means a rushed first attempt that passes still starts the renewal countdown immediately.

How the Service Works

1

You send the brief

2

You get a straight feasibility answer

3

The sitting is handled end to end

4

You pay after the result

What You Get

Current-format confirmation

At-home or center delivery

The full fee picture first

One point of contact

Handling It Safely

Every engagement starts from what Autodesk and Pearson VUE publish today: the certification page facts, the OnVUE minimums and prohibited-technology list, the check-in sequence, and the retake and recertification policies. The plan is built inside those boundaries, not around them.

What we control is the quality, discretion, and privacy of the engagement: an honest feasibility answer before anything starts, a structured sitting plan, and a fee that follows the result. Your details stay private, we never ask for more than the sitting requires, and your account access is handled under the engagement's stated terms only.

And the honesty runs both directions: if the sitting does not look feasible for your situation - including a deadline that collides with result posting or the recertification window - you hear that before anything starts, not after.

Pay After the Result Posts

The offer on this page is the site's real offer: Exam Assist handles the Inventor for Mechanical Design sitting end to end, and the service fee is due only after the agreed result posts. No pass, no service fee.

That structure is deliberate. You are not paying for effort or hours - you pay after you pass, and the fee waits for the result your Autodesk Account posts after the sitting.

What Clients Say

The credential was the line my promotion case kept circling back to. They confirmed the current published format against Autodesk's certification page, handled the OnVUE sitting from my apartment, and I paid after the pass posted.
What sold me was the structure: a feasibility call that was honest about my timeline, then a sitting plan that matched the published OnVUE rules exactly. The fee came after the result, exactly as stated.
I had one window before a client submission and no time to gamble. They said up front what was realistic, handled the sitting, and the pass posted inside my deadline.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can the Inventor for Mechanical Design exam be taken online from home? +
Yes. Autodesk's certification page names both routes - in person at a Pearson Testing Center or online with Pearson OnVUE - and Pearson VUE runs a dedicated Autodesk OnVUE page with scheduling login and published minimums: Windows 10 or macOS 14 or higher, webcam, microphone, and speaker with no headphones, one display only, a stable 6 Mbps down and 2 Mbps up connection, and every application except OnVUE closed. Failing a minimum on exam day can mean immediate cancellation and forfeiture of the exam fee.
What is the format of the Inventor for Mechanical Design exam? +
Autodesk publishes 45-60 selected-response questions in 120 minutes, in English, at the Professional level. Question types include multiple-choice, drag-and-drop, active-screen, hot-area, and graphic-interpretation items, and you do not get access to the software during the exam. The result is pass or fail; Autodesk does not disclose passing scores in advance.
How much does the Inventor for Mechanical Design exam cost? +
US$200 at Autodesk's published standard retail price for Professional-level exams, paid per appointment through your Autodesk Account. A second attempt after a failed first is scheduled immediately based on availability; after a second failed attempt the wait is three days, and that three-day wait applies to every subsequent retake.
How often can I retake the Inventor for Mechanical Design exam? +
There is no published attempt cap. The only published constraint is the waiting rule: reschedule immediately after a first failed attempt, then wait three days (72 hours) after the second and each subsequent attempt. Every attempt carries the full US$200 exam fee.
Is the certification valid forever once I pass? +
No. Autodesk publishes a three-year validity for Professional-level certifications. Recertifying means submitting a new certification application inside the six-month window before your expiry date and passing the exam again before that date - there is no grace period once a credential lapses, and there is no published renewal-by-activity option.
How and when do I get my Inventor for Mechanical Design result? +
Results post to your Autodesk Account after the sitting - Autodesk's certification pages state you use the Autodesk Account to see your results. Scoring is pass or fail with no numerical score published, and passing scores vary by exam and are not disclosed in advance.

Get Your Inventor for Mechanical Design Sitting Handled

Send your background, your Inventor experience, your window, and your deadline. You get a straight feasibility answer against Autodesk's current published certification page, a plan built around OnVUE at home or a Pearson test center, and the pay-after-pass structure: the service fee is due only after the agreed result posts. If the sitting does not look feasible, you hear that first - and a failed attempt never triggers a fee.

Book Inventor for Mechanical Design Exam Help